New to Canyoneering BC

New to Canyoneering BC

Postby Bradeyarnold » Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:40 pm

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right place to post this but I don't seem to be able to find a better spot.

I'm pretty new to Canyoneering and even newer to it in BC.

I have some small experience (key hole Canyon, Utah) and setting repels for top rope climbing, but thats about it. I want to get in to Canyoneering in a big way but I can't find anyone (especially experienced people) to go with in BC or affiliation to join to improve my skills.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on where to find experienced Canyoneers and if not are there any organised teaching groups in BC?
Bradeyarnold

Re: New to Canyoneering BC

Postby cirrus2000 » Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:05 pm

I realize that this post is quite old, and that we've been in touch (and done some canyons!) in the meantime, but I wanted to respond to the points raised here. Someone in the future may read this and have the same questions...

There are no actual teaching or guiding groups that I'm aware of in the local area. About the closest way to receive instruction is down in Washington State, through ATS: http://www.theatsteam.com/adventureworks/index.html. They are based in Los Angeles, but do some training courses in Washington, east of Seattle in the Snoqualmie National Forest. However, they had advertised a three day course at the end of August, 2013, but didn't receive enough interest and had to cancel it...

The best way, right now, to get out and try the sport in this area is to go with experienced canyoneers. And the best way to do that is by networking.

First off, this forum is mighty slow, but I'd sure like to see it take off and be a place where people can get in touch with others who have the same interest. I like the idea of a forum like this, rather than a group on Facebook, for in depth discussion, trip reports, etc.